Take a breath … and enjoy it

November 9, 2009 at 10:12 am 1 comment

Days like today make me forget about stressing over work that needs to be done and makes each breath I take a reminder of how good life is.  I never thought I would enjoy visiting someone  in the hospital but for some reason each time I leave my grandma’s side I gain a sense of peace and joy that is hard to describe.  She has been fighting various health issues and is now recovering from a fall that resulted in a broken hip and shoulder. My mom and her sisters have been rotating shifts at the hospital so that Grandma always has someone at her side. The grandkids have also been pitching in and also making sure that Grandpa is taken care of. I’ve always loved my family but in times like this I just can’t stop thinking about how thankful I am. The real kicker tonight was watching my mom at her mother’s bedside… stroking her hair, squeezing her hand and telling her everything was going to be alright. Witnessing such a moment makes me analyze what I’m investing my time in …. and in which order of priority. I want more of my life spent looking into the eyes of those who I love, putting everything else aside and focusing in that moment on what matters most. Last week I was stressing over all of the jobs I am STILL behind on and wondering when I would get everything done. Funny that I don’t seem to have that worry on my mind today. Each day is a gift that deserves to be enjoyed.

My beautiful Grandma…

Dennison.blog-5

Dennison.blog-6

Dennison.blog-7

Dennison.blog-8

Dennison.blog-1 

Dennison.blog-2

… go love someone today  🙂

“Not only so, but we also rejoice in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perseverance; perseverance, character; and character, hope. And hope does not disappoint us, because God has poured out his love into our hearts by the Holy Spirit, whom he has given us.” Romans 5:3-5

 

Entry filed under: My Family.

Joel & Jessica’s Wedding Colton

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Lynell  |  November 9, 2009 at 12:09 pm

    Awww Amy, this post is so amazingly sweet. It made me cry. I too rush through everyday wondering when/how it will all get done. We all need to slow down a bit any enjoy our lives and the ones in our lives that we love. God Bless you and your sweet Grandmother 🙂 Hopefully we can meet up for lunch one day!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Stat counter

hit tracker

